Severed Heads in Liber T deck

share3

I'm new to Aeclectic, and apologize if this is the wrong forum for this question:

I'm new to the Thoth, and just got my first Thoth deck and a Liber T deck. I notice a lot of severed heads in the Liber T minors illustrations. The Liber T 5 and 7 of swords, 2 of spheres, and 5 of cups all show decapitations, but especially the 2 of spheres shows a large figure carrying his severed head under his arm. Is there some symbolic significance to severed heads?

I know the Queen of Swords in the Thoth also carries a severed head, and I was able to accept that even knowing as little as I do about the meaning of the card, but I find the sheer number of decapitations in the Liber T puts me off, and I might have to give up the deck unless someone can shed some light on this for me. Anyone?

Richard

I'm new to Aeclectic, and apologize if this is the wrong forum for this question:

I'm new to the Thoth, and just got my first Thoth deck and a Liber T deck. I notice a lot of severed heads in the Liber T minors illustrations. The Liber T 5 and 7 of swords, 2 of spheres, and 5 of cups all show decapitations, but especially the 2 of spheres shows a large figure carrying his severed head under his arm. Is there some symbolic significance to severed heads?

I know the Queen of Swords in the Thoth also carries a severed head, and I was able to accept that even knowing as little as I do about the meaning of the card, but I find the sheer number of decapitations in the Liber T puts me off, and I might have to give up the deck unless someone can shed some light on this for me. Anyone?

There are free e-book editions of Crowley's Book of Thoth online. You can read Crowley's analyses of the cards in question and decide whether decapitation depictions are justified. Personally, I think too many decapitations may reduce the impact of a somewhat disturbing image.

ETA. Also, check out Grigori's link.

Abrac