Lost & Confused Newbie

Lil Red

Hi guys,

This is so embarrassing to say but I had the Thoth tarot for 8 weeks now without opening or taking off it plastic bag. The reason I had not open it was cause I had to study for finals and also cause I'm a total newbie on this deck since I usually work with tarot based on the Rider tradition. Now ever since I bought Tarot of the Vampyres I could not fully appreciate it cause it is based on Thoth (or slightly I think) so I put it put it away on my tarot chest. So, now that finals are over and it's summer vacation I thought to study my thoth tarot. I only own 2 books on thoth which are "Understanding Aleister Crowley's Thoth Tarot" by Lon Milo DuQuette and "The Book of Thoth" by Aleister Crowley. The problem is I do not know where to start off and feel completely at loss. It feels like this is a whole new world and have no direction to go at since I do not like to take the short card (if there is ever one). I was hoping if anyone can direct me in where to start I would deeply appreciate it. Also if you have any recommendations for me to read or learn than I would be forever in your graditude, thank you!

ravenest

Open the cards, start looking at them. Read Lom first then start working through the Book of Thoth. You have everything you need for an introduction to Thoth vacation.

Le Fanu

Yes, stop procrastinating :); open the deck, start with DuQuette and then later the Book of Thoth.

You have everything at your fingertips.

Spiffo

Hi Lil Red,

I figure you posted your question, like I've posted things, to enter into a discussion. I'm fairly new to Thoth and I'm also using the Liber-T Tarot of Star Eternal which is based on Thoth.