Saturn.... What the heck!

starchaser1277

I have no knowledge of Astrology, however I did have my chart read by the most amazing 85 year old astrologer in December. I am a Sagittarius, an apparently saturn has been in my orbit for the past two years. I have had some major life changes since saturn arrived, a major divorce, financial problems, kids moving out of my home (college, and my eldest moved to another city for work), I have had a few heartbreaks, a relationship ending due to timing, numerous other bad luck happenings. She told me sweeping changes. My question is when will Saturn leave so that all of this upheaval will end? I read that Saturn teaches lessons and is the planet of karma, and that when Saturn leaves it shapes you into a stronger better person. Is this true?

I'm also curious about any other Sagittaians who have been through any similar experiences.

Nemia

I can't tell you exactly when Saturn leaves Sagittarius' neighborhood. Until the end of 2017 I think, it moves slowly and is always c. 2 years in one sign, and afterwards, its influence is weakening but still felt. I can tell you how to look for it for yourself, if you are interested.

Take a look at the sky - I copied from Stellarium how the sky looks in New York right now. Take the Moon as orientation. To the left of it, you can see clearly a constellation shaped like a tea kettle. That's Sagittarius. Do you see Saturn? It has moved towards Scorpio but it's still close to Sagittarius.

In the tarot, Sagittarius is associated with Temperance. It's a mutable sign, the gentlest fire sign. Saturn (associated with the World) is a planet that slows everything down - it's also associated with the metal lead, its dull shine and heaviness. Before other planets where known (before the invention of the telescope), Saturn was the slowest planet.