Writing A Suspense Thriller Spread

Glass Owl

This is my first attempt at creating a spread. I used Entertainment Weekly's Script-O-Matic (2/3/06, p 21) as the spring board for it. Please let me know what you think.

Writing A Suspense Thriller Spread (8) by Glass Owl

**7****8
1***2***
**3*****
4***5***
**6*****

1. Hero
Main character of story. The card could represent an aspect of the hero's personality, physical appearance, or history. It could be how the hero views him/her self or how others see him/her.

2. Hero's Present Situation or Condition
This position refers to the hero's current thoughts, beliefs, physical location, job situation, family/love life, etc.

3. Conflict
A Change in some aspect of the hero's situation or state.

4. Obstacle
A person (including the hero!) or other force that challenges the hero but doesn't necessarily have to be seen as bad or negative. Often referred to as the "villian" of the story.

5. Hero's Aid
Something or someone that provides knowledge, help, or support to the hero. Could be in the form of an ally (mentor, friend, relative, sidekick, or teacher), tool (weapon or equipment), or special talent (skill, past experience). The aid could arrive unexpectedly or be present from the beginning.

6. Goal
The goal may belong to the hero or the obstacle (aka the villian). The goal usually involves the resolution of the conflict but could also encompass other objectives, such as desires or dreams.

There may be more than one goal for a character. A goal should involve an action (either the initiation of it or the resistance of it.) Goals could include action elements such as stopping, finding, avenging, gaining, learning, rescuing, revealing, escaping, surviving, restoring, etc.

7. Climax
The high point in the story.

8. Outcome
An aspect of the resolution (where the loose ends of the story come together) or the conclusion of the story (the closing).