Newbie question concerning the pip keywords

cardwitch

Forgive me if this has been discussed before. I tried searching the forum, but I couldn't find anything.

I just started exploring the Thoth. Like many people, I find the images striking and mesmerizing, and think they have the potential to give incredible readings. However, to me the keywords on the pip cards are limiting and annoying. I admit, I'm new to the Thoth, so maybe this is just something I have to get used to, but I'm used to letting the image in a Tarot card "do the talking". I don't (usually) use fixed meanings, but read what I see.

Currently I own a small-sized deck that makes for easy shuffling and handling, but I'm thinking of getting the large size and trimming the borders just to get away from those darned keywords. For those of you who are more experienced with this deck, how important are the keywords in your readings? Do you ignore them? Appreciate them? Rely on them?

I look forward to hearing what you all think :D

Owl Tarot

The keywords are actually really helpful, in my opinion at the least. I can even read without the images and just the keywords or the other way around to be frank! Anyway, I think your lack of understanding the importance of the keywords comes not from thin air and requires study to fully appreciate. Let me give you an example, talking about one I do enjoy: 2 of Cups, Love.