New deck

mauvedragon

I'm creating a deck from scratch. I've been an artist since 2010 and all my work is heavy on metaphor and symbology. I'm creating this deck to get into better touch with my personal symbology and instincts.

There's no theme but it is going be influenced by my love history, knowledge of folklore, my bisexuality - there will be two lovers cards in the deck both numbered 6 - my religion I'm a Kemetic Neo-pagan (I worship the gods of Ancient Egypt and venerate the ancestors) and my experience of being disabled - strength - is an old man with a walking stick hailing a bus.

I'm going to be making other changes to the Major arcana. Some small -Fool is becoming Trickster - a three tailed kitsune with blue eyes in High Goth - the fool is often read as innocent and he isn't. More dramatic changes empress is being replaced with the artisan and the emperor with the warrior. There are others but I won't list them now.

I need to do research because I'm stronger on some aspects of the tarot than others. I'm going to sketch each design in pencil. Then paint them in acrylic on water colour paper slightly smaller than A4 in proportion to Tarot cards. I'm expecting it to take months.

HudsonGray

But the Fool IS supposed to be innocent/naïve - he's the start of the Fool's Journey, the progression from Fool through the major arcana.

A Trickster would more likely be the Magician.

tarotbear

Congratulations and Good Luck! :thumbsup:

But - before you take brush to paper - I'm confused by how A4 is 'in proportion' to Tarot cards - you may want to glance at the thread 'If Only I Had Known' which is tacked to the top of this same forum ... it might save you some heartache or hair-pulling down the road ....

mauvedragon