Set 4 - numbers

fluffy

As I am new to this i am just going to attempt to give my view on the majors for the no. 4. Here goes and sorry if it doesn't make sense:

"The no. 4 makes up a square with each side equal. It is the number of reality, logic & reason. The essence of mans threefold nature - body, mind & spirit - is brought to the material plane, forming a square"

The complete book of Tarot - Juliet Sharman-Burke

The Emperor (IV)

The 4 "things" that i notice in this card are the unicorn from the empress cd, the sword, the crown in the throne and the fey himself. I am not sure what they mean except perhaps that they show different sides of the feys personality "The threefold nature" the caring side\emotion (the unicorn), the material side (the crown) and the logical side/intellect (the sword) making up the whole which is the emperor. I notice that his eyes are on the unicorn, but am not sure what this means. His throne is in the air and is made of rock, perhaps meaning his wisdom is of an earthy nature and showing his solidity. His armour shows his strength. Also the 3 rocks around him and the one he is stood on almost form a square also indicating the balance of the no. 4

Death (XIII)

The 4 "things" that i notice in this card are the 2 white pieces of chess, the sun (eclipsed by the moon) and the egg in the background. This could mean (but I am only guessing) that you are born (the sun), you grow up (emperor/wisest), you die and go into the sky merging with the universe(star) and are reborn again (the egg) essentially showing the nature of life logically. Also body (emperor/wisest) mind (star) and spirit (sun) making up the whole which is the egg (ie new life) coming to the material plane - the earth again. There is the reality and sureness and completeness of the no 4 in that you die and then are reborn and this is the cycle (the round chess board).