Question about when a card represents a person

ficbot

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to this (the tarot in general and the forum too!) and apologize if I make any mistakes or if this is not the right way to ask this :) Anyway, I have the RWS deck and have spent awhile trying to learn the meanings. Then I got a book on tarot spreads and the first one I tried was about contacting a loved one. I am a bit confused about what happened :)

Basically, the first question was 'who am I speaking with' and the card I got was the queen of cups. I had a very strong feeling right away that this card represented my late grandmother, with whom I was very close. I read the description in several books, and this only reinforced it. It sounded like my grandmother exactly.

Since then, I have been doing the daily draw and gotten the queen of cups a few more times. I cannot seem to get past this interpretation that it is my grandmother. So what does this mean? Will the queen of cups always mean 'my grandmother' when it comes up? Will my grandmother, conversely, ever 'appear' in the readings as a different card depending on the situation?

Maybe it was too early for me to try a proper reading. I just seem a little stuck on this. I feel like I have to be open to interpretations for this card that are not 'oh look, here is Grandma!' because it might not always mean that. And I feel like if she does try and reach me in other ways depending on the context, I need to be open to recognizing that too...

She passed about two years ago, and since then I have had several dreams about her, and one experience regarding her which cannot be explained rationally. I also have many of her belongings, including furniture and things she had made by hand. I definitely still feel her presence in my life and think she is still looking out for me...

Nemia