Tarot Books

Pineapple88

What book is great for Tarot beginners? Do you need to buy the book based off the tarot deck you purchased?

Tanga

Likely we're in the wrong AT section as there is a books and media place...

'Learning the Tarot' by Joan Bunning. A great basic book.
'21 ways to read a Tarot card' by Mary K Greer.
'Tarot 101' by Kim Huggens.

You don't have to have the book that comes with your deck - but at some point you may
want to as likely there may be specific symbols and meaning that the artist has put in it...

**guess I should add - I don't mean the little white book in the card box - I hardly ever look at those. :)
I assumed you meant larger companion books.

gregory

Not necessarily. Many books that come with decks are generic rubbish....

Good for absolute beginners - Barbara Moore is one author you CANNOT go wrong with; her new one: Your Tarot, Your Way specifically deals with the ANY deck question. There is also Kim Huggens: Tarot 101.

You could look through the books here: http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/books/beginners.shtml

Julian Jaymes

I really like Tarot 101 by Kim Huggens, as well as the Complete Idiot's Guide to Tarot. Sadly I lost both of those in the process of packing, storing, transporting, and unpacking the last time I moved...I ordered the Idiot's Guide from Amazon because I'm really rusty on some of the cards and I really needed a book.

Some decks do come with decent books, but the little white book (LWB) that comes with many packs just doesn't do it for me.

Tay

AnjouTwo

While I agree in general that kit books, or the "little white books" that come with decks, are often an afterthought or woefully inadequate, there are a few exceptions. Barbara Moore wrote the companion book for Llewellyn's Classic Tarot, and it's wonderful. Juliet Sharman-Burke's book that came in the kit with Giovanni Caselli's underrated deck is also comprehensive and well written.