Visconti-Sforza deck

geomancer

Hello to all forum members'

I am new to tarot and this forum and embarking on some private historical research into the Visconti-Sforza deck, as such I was wondering if anybody else has had similar thoughts or can recommend any authoritive publications, net sites, etc.

Basically my aim is to:
1. Establish any underlying (esoteric) geometric relationships within and between individual cards.
2. Apply Christian Gnostic philosophy to these patterns and determine if there is any Cathar/Gnostic message within the deck.

I have discounted the Tower and Devil cards already due to these cards missing from the original deck. I have read that six cards are attributed to a different artist and possibly added at a later date. Does anybody have information as to the names of these six cards?

Any help would be most appreciated and I look forward to sharing any developments with other forum members.

Moonbow

Hi Geomancer and welcome to Aeclectic

I am not an historian but an enthusiast, but I asked a few days ago how this deck should be read and asked for opinions. Rusty Neon recommended this site, which may also be of use to your research:

http://tarot.com/about-tarot/library/boneill/

I have also found that Andy's Playing Cards site has been invaluable which is here:

http://l-pollett.tripod.com/cards34.htm

I look forward to the rest of the answers I'm sure that you will receive.

jmd

Greetings and welcome to Aeclectic, T. Geomancer.

Huck has already not only mentioned the six cards, but, with Moonbow*, they have also given wonderful references.

Once the cards are noted, it is easy to again notice, looking at the images themselves, that those six (Strength, Temperance, the Star, Moon, Sun and the World) are clearly different in style - especially if one observes the background 'hills' and the nature of the ground and its grassiness.