Swapping decks?

ldiddy

Good morning. I'm new to tarot and have several decks I am using for my daily draws or readings (almost exclusively "reading" for myself). As I make the draws, I record the cards and their positions in my tarot journal then write my own interpretation of the meanings of the cards individually and within the spread.

I'm wondering if I am not getting a strong message from a card, for example this morning the 10 of pentacles from RWS, can I pull the same card from another deck I have and meditate on it?

At a gut level, it feels a little disrespectful to deck in use, but as someone just learning tarot, I think it could help me better understand the cards. I'm inclined to listen to my intuition and maybe consult a book instead.

So, just thought I would put it out there.... Thanks!

AJ

Once in a while I draw a blank. I'll google the card to see 'the same but different' and it kick starts my brain again.
Once I've squeezed what I can from the card, if I'm still thinking I've missed something important or obvious I'll go to my blog and pull up all the 10 of swords or whatever card on there and see what I've written over the years.

Some members have lots of decks because they are collectors along with using the decks. I'm not a collector but I value the variety of decks I own for the variety they portray.

The deck you are using won't get jealous if you use another deck.

The one problem I do see if you are pulling one more card to 'clairfy' the card, again and again, (from the same deck) the result can be utterly confusing. Continue on your course, you are doing fine. We can't take in all the history and symbology in one gulp, our brains would explode.

Welcome to AT, enjoy the journey

dryadintheelm