Medieval faire fortune teller

Graymalkin

Hey guys!

So, my friend who is the president of the Republican club at my college just asked me if I could be the fortune teller there. I agreed because I have had a lot of experience doing tarot, but I have never down so on such a large scale. This will be our college's very first Medieval faire and I'm just curious if there is anything I should do to prepare for it? I am pretty confident in my readings because i haven't had a someone yet who told me I was way off, but is there any advice I should know before the big day? I am going to practice each day until then and make sure they are ready before I use them.

It'll only be for a couple of hours and I will give 10 mins per reading, and I get to set up my own space. Whatever advice anyone is willing to give will be appreciated.

GryffinSong

I have a friend who used to read at medieval fairs. If you can, look into appropriate gypsy or medieval costuming from that time period. And if you have a medieval deck all the better. People like atmosphere in such a situation, so setting up a nice table (perhaps round) with a colorful cloth, some stones or a crystal ball, candles ... anything you can think of to set the mood. Folks at medieval festivals are looking for ambiance and fun. Keep it light and fun, look the part, and you'll do fine. :)

Have fun!!!

nisaba

This thread reminded me of a poem written about a Tarot stall at a Fair, written by our very own Kwaw:

FATE AND A DATE, WITH BRATWURST

They arrive at the fair early morning,
servants' of Fortune of Wagnerian proportions:
blond and brunette in a Volkswagen camper
tight white dresses and long scarlet scarves.

They pitch next to a stand grilling bratwurst,
where appetite would ensure passing trade:
led by the nose on the lead of a whiff
to two ladies who would read you your fate.

In their medieval like tent, striped red and white,
they set up table and chairs and, with due ceremony,