Decks that Read Well/Do Not Read Well

Village Witch

I see people asking if a deck reads well or does not read well. I don't understand the question.

I have decks that have Owls as the Birds cards and other decks have twittering Birds or Birds making a nest. I keep several decks on hand to read with at any given time. Spirit guides which deck I use.

If I draw a twittering Birds card, I think of gossip or chit chat or a telephone call. If I draw the Owl, I think of a wise old owl and may read the card as intellectual conversation.

In my opinion, all my decks read well as I am doing the reading. My psychic abilities empower whatever deck I am using.

What am I missing here? I don't understand the question.

And what does enabling and not enabling mean?

I'm a newbie!

Teheuti

Since the Grand Tableau is the iconic spread and what most work up to - it is important that cards can be quickly and easily identified when all laid out. Nothing is more annoying than not being able to discern the image amidst a fancy border, or not knowing if a child with a dog is the Child card or the Dog card, or a sun with two birds flying past is Birds or Sun. Some people are very sensitive to the way that items in the cards face (called "directionality").

These may not be a big deal with short spreads, but they quickly become problematic with the Grand Tableau and if sharing pictures on Facebook when other people aren't familiar with your deck.

Barleywine