A question about OOP.

Parasphere

Hey all,

This may sound like a silly question but bear with me- I'm still learning!!

Just why DO decks go OOP in the first place?

So that their value shoots up?
So that we struggle to aquire them?
For legal reasons?

?

If a deck is in high demand and can be 're-printed', then why not?

Le Fanu

Why do decks go OOP? My theory is that - being realistic - there is very little demand for tarot decks. It isn't like the new Dan Brown bestseller that can just keep going on and on. We are a minority and I think that long terms, continuously in print decks are not very viable for a publisher.

(I don't think it's a conspiracy so that deck prices go up ;))

Parasphere

Hmmm.. Yes but what if a deck was in high demand WITHIN this small Tarot community? Like the VR, for example. Can a small batch not be re-printed if a deck proves to be a good potential sale? Or would that not be worthwhile for publishers?

Oh well.

Thanks for your reply LF! :)

nisaba

Parasphere said:
Just why DO decks go OOP in the first place?
Same range of reasons that books do, too.

Not enough sales. Publishers go broke. Publishers have conflicts with creators. Times change. Limited-time contracts between publishers and creators. The passage of time. All sorts of reasons. You;'d have to be in publishing to understand or know them all, I suspect.

Parasphere

I see. Yeah.. For some reason, I thought there was a particular reason decks went OOP. More along the lines of their value going up so that they become a collector's item etc.

Cheer Nisaba!

ilweran

Parasphere said:
Hmmm.. Yes but what if a deck was in high demand WITHIN this small Tarot community? Like the VR, for example. Can a small batch not be re-printed if a deck proves to be a good potential sale? Or would that not be worthwhile for publishers?

With printing the smaller the batch the more expensive it works out per item - whether you're printing 10 or 10,000 the set up costs are the same.

PathWalker