Preferred Deck?

Aeric

Some people reserve a particular playing card deck for cartomancy, others read effortlessly with whatever playing card deck comes to hand. Do you feel the multiplicity of Tarot decks, and your success with certain ones, is also reflected in playing cards?

Do you prefer a specific brand, or one from a certain country that uses specific pips?

Rose Lalonde

I have limited experience with multiple decks so was going to wait and see what others said, but since it's been a day...

I read with the same deck for years, then recently purchased a second deck with art I like better. It's revitalized my reading, but that's more renewed enthusiasm than anything else. It may be slightly easier in the courts, because the nature-inspired art on those cards complements season/element suit associations I have in mind.

I do have a kickstarter deck coming to me in Sep/Oct that I chose for the unusual pip placement, and I suspect that will have a more tangible effect.

WolfyJames

Back when I was doing cartomancy, I was using the deck from the book-set Fortune Teller's Deck by Jane Lyle. The cards are very pretty and I found the book really interesting. I had another deck before but it was ruined by dropping chicken broil on it, so I went looking for another one, which was the one from Fortune Teller's Deck. I never used another deck after I got this one.

Emily

I still have the original Waddingtons playing cards that I used when I was around 10. They are a bit scruffy now but I still read better with just plain playing cards. I bought a lovely set of Anne Stokes Gothic playing cards and as pretty as they are, I can't use them because the images are very distracting. I also have the Key to The Kingdom playing cards which I can't use either because they also are distracting.