transiting planets conjunct angles

Sophie

I have a few questions I've not really found answered here or elsewhere on the net.

What is the significance of transiting planets (or other bodies/points) conjuncting an angle in our chart?

For example: a chart I am studying has transiting Uranus conjuncting the Midheaven - this, I take it, means that Uranus will significantly impact on the career and social drive of the subject, possibly leading to a change of jobs or career, or to a renegotiation of the subject's job towards more equality and independence (anything else?)

Another example: transiting Pluto conjunct Descendant - which happens to be conjunct natal Venus. This looks like a big upheaval in the subject's marital/romantic life, battling issues of power within relationships, relationship breakdown, etc.

How strong would such influences be? How long do they take to play out? Do they show events or psychological evolutions/revolutions or both? Are the impacts seen during or after the conjunction has occurred? Do the events occur during or after the conjunction, as they catch up with the subject's psychological change?

So in my first example (Uranus conjunct Midheaven) - would the impact on the subject's career be perceived during the time of the conjunction, or afterwards, as the subject absorbs the lessons of the conjunction? If nothing particular happens to the subject's career during the conjunction - can we say that the subject has been transforming internally, and so the effects will be perceived later?

How do other aspects in the subject's chart modify or reinforce these angular relationships?

Is there any significance in the oppositions to angles? (so, for instance, in the case of Pluto conjunct Descendant, we also have Pluto in opposition to Ascendant).

Gavriela