Tarot of the Zirkus Mägi

Freder

Hello friends;

I recently "completed" my Tarot of the Zircus Mägi -- the effort of 18 months or more. I have to use quotations around the word "completed" because even now I feel like some of the card images need revision. It's the nature of the animal, I suppose...

One thing -- I can absolutely attest that the way to best come to understand Tarot is to design your own deck! NO doubts about that. When I began this project I did not feel confident at all in my readings. A year and a half later, I'm still by no means an expert... but I'm no longer _intimidated_ by the cards. I feel like I can look them in the eye, if that makes any sense.

So my advice to anyone who may be thinking about creating their own deck is -- do it! Make it so. Building my deck has certainly been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life -- it hasn't just brought me understanding, it has made new friends for me and opened doors that did not exist before.

If you're curious, my deck is here: http://circustarot.blogspot.com . But the main thing is, I now understand why one of the requirements of advancing within the Golden Dawn was to build your own tarot deck. If you do it right, it is a rich and rewarding learning experience.

Thanks for reading --

DT

Update 9.7.14: I'm now taking pre-orders for the deck at the URL above. Thanks!

Gulliver

Wooow, excellent! May you tell how is the cardstock and how big are the cards? Have no words to express how much I like your ideas you've put in the cards and your art.

Alta

Very original and well executed. I am impressed.

You may post your Kickstarter link directly if you wish.

Babalon Jones

Hi DT,

Nice job, congrats on completion. 18 months, wow that is impressive timing :)
It looks like a lot of thought went into your image and keyword choices. I like that!

Good luck on your Kickstarter hope you make it

~MM