Reading for yourself-Intuitive vs What I Want to Hear

Cynthia_H

Good day all:

I am a newbie who primarily reads for herself (other than this forum) and would like to become a more intuitive reader. For the past few years I have been studying the books and meanings about the cards. Without the background and experience that many of you folks have, I often find that when I ignore the "book meanings" (which I know have many applications and subject to a vast array of interpretations) and just go with my feelings, I get an unusually high number of readings with the answer I want.

Does this go away with experience or do you have any tips how to overcome this conflict ?

Cheers, Cynthia.

Barleywine

I don't read for myself much any more, but these days when I do I go more for "tone" than detailed "substance." There is an old caveat: "Don't put too fine a point on it" that is good advice when reading for oneself. For example, I might ask "How will today go?" rather than "What will happen today?)

Cynthia_H

......I go more for "tone" than detailed "substance." There is an old caveat: "Don't put too fine a point on it" that is good advice when reading for oneself.
.....good advice, cheers, Cynthia :thumbsup:

barefootlife

I also don't ask specific questions when reading for myself. Another thing I do is to really look at the way that the cards reference each other instead of reading them individually. That helps point the way to which meaning that card might be speaking to. (that helps in all readings, of course) But the non-specific question helps the most - it lets the cards say what they will and helps keep you from steering your reading to the 'right' answer.

magicjack