Houses for Mother and Father

MissNine

Hello Astrologers,
I started learning astrology and had read a book saying House 4 of the zodiac was attributed to the father and House 10 was for the mother.

Then, another astrologer told me that this was the "old" belief in astrology and the mother and father are now in different houses.

Can someone clarify please?

Tigerangel

I studied astrology many years ago, but I'm really quite rusty at what I remember, but I don't ever remember the houses being mother and father, the 4th house is home and family, and the 10th house is social status and career, which is different from work which is in house 6 if I remember correctly, I can see how mother could be related to the 4th house as its about Home and family, and father in 10th because of it being the social status of the bread winner, so 4th house/homemaker/mother and 10th house/breadwinner/father.

But as far as I'm aware no houses have ever been moved and none have ever been named mother and father to my knowledge anyway.

Maybe this was just the personal views of the author of the book you read, but to me 4th Is Home/Family and 10th Social Status/Career

ETA/ I did a little online research on this new thing with mother and father, and as far as I can make out this something that some astrologers use and certain astrologers will change the houses as a personal preference for how they read charts.

Imo I'd stick to studying classic astrology.

rachelcat

You are all correct. "Traditional" or "classical" astrology attributes the father to the 4th house and mother to the 10th house. Modern, psychological astrologers (beginning to be popular in the 1930s?) often switch them for the reasons tigerangel gives: Home and family seem closer to mother, while social status and ambition seem closer to father.