My François Chosson and Pierre Madenié have arrived!

rivergum

And they are splendid! :)

I have had such fun opening the beautiful, sturdy glossy boxes to find these wonderful cards wrapped in a gloriously printed paper (which I am handling with such care to maintain it's perfection).

Comparing cards two-by-two was very interesting. The Chosson is slightly glossier, but both are wonderful to handle. I love the different engravings and colours. I was at first reluctant to shuffle as these cards are so special, but once you do, you feel perfectly confident. My first card was Le Diable which was wonderfully appropriate as I am procrastinating on writing up a Psychology report for tomorrow on "attachment".

I am new to tarot, and these are my first true copies of historical decks. I have the CBD TdeM which is a fantastic reconstruction, beautiful to shuffle and to read with and I have the Robledo TdeM and the Universal on their way to compare. I shall very much enjoy looking at them and learning how to read with them. Learning to read the pips will be my biggest challenge.

The François Chosson and Pierre Madenié Tarot de Marseilles are fabulous decks and I highly recommend them. Enjoy! :)

Inconnu

Agreed!

I got the Madenie a couple of weeks ago & the CBD two days ago. Love them both. I've developed a strong interest in historical packs & spending quite a bit of time reading up on them. Most of the facsimile packs I find to be fairly priced & as close as I'll ever get to holding history in my hands.

I was a little surprised that my Madenie is only #244/3000 What is the number of your pack?

I suppose you must of read the "Specialty makers" thread. I found that to be a lot of fun.

Having started my Tarot study with the RWS I didn't appreciate the beauty of the Marseilles design at first. Now I am finding it one of the most lovely & intriguing.