Tarot connections to the ancient Vedas of India

MerynPriestess

Well, I tried to post this before, but my phone froze, so here I am trying to articulate my thoughts again in front of my computer...

I am new to tarot, and in order to better understand the Major Arcana, I have been studying the story of the Fool's Journey. I really like the story; it's interesting, and it's thought-provoking and entertaining. Because I follow an Eastern path in my personal spirituality/religion/faith, I found some interesting correlations popped into my head during my studies:

The Fool submits himself to the Hierophant, desperate, when he fears that he may lose the valuables he has gained. The Heirophant makes it clear that his valuables are material; he shows the Fool that inner intuition already has the answer. He shows the Fool that his relationships and his knowledge, which are abstract and spiritual, are more valuable than material possessions.

For me, this really resonated with the soul's journey as told in many Vedic scriptures. The soul surrenders himself to a guru, often obtaining a new name at this time. Sometimes surrender means time spent in the ashram of the guru, away from family and friends; sometimes it means spending time and energy serving the guru. Often it does involve studying literature, which the High Priestess has the Fool do, even before he goes to the Hierophant. So the Fool's submission to the Hierophant and the lessons therein made me think of this guru-disciple relationship.