So, how do you feel about being recorded?

Cicero

Wow it's great to be back, after slipping away to make my own custom deck... I really missed talking with all you great fellow readers out there!

As a few of you might know, I do the majority of my readings at school (since I'm still a student) and one thing that you can be assured of from teenagers is that a grand majority of them have cellphones.

It's not uncommon for me to whip out my cards, do a simple seven card spread and have a small crowd to boot. Tarot is such an icebreaker in this way. However, one of my major pet peeves when giving a reading is for someone to pull out that phone and record me. Whether it be sound or video, I will pause the reading until they put it away.

I'm aboslutely terrified that it will be posted to youtube. Or worse, sent to all my fellow peers.

While I am perfectly alright with writing down my readings in a journal or indeed with our friends here. I cannot stand to be physically recorded. Just a gut feeling telling me that, I should say no and put a stop to it.

It got me curious, my deep repulsion to being recorded, about how other more experienced readers feel about this.

So, what about you? Are you alright with it? Or do you sweep up the cards and say the reading is over? I know which side of the fence I'm on!

Milfoil

Well, I've never been recorded reading tarot but I've been on the radio a few times and given lectures/workshops which have been recorded as well as taking part in educational videos for the Business School in the University I once worked for. I don't find it to be a problem at all AS LONG as I know beforehand.

It is rather rude, however, to be on film without one's prior knowledge, it is also an invasion of privacy and has data protection implications which you could challenge the person recording the event about.