How does Tarot "work", in your personal opinion or experience?

Silmaril23

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Tarot and very new to this forum. I really enjoy hearing from such a diverse community, particularly those of you who have been working with the cards for years and years.

I've read several books on Tarot, but right now I would like to hear people's personal experiences and opinions about how Tarot "works" for you. What do you believe is really going on here?

I feel that I could go a few different ways within my own mind. The positions described below are just a starting point for discussion:

1. Tarot provides a valuable new vocabulary and lens for seeing reality, but there is no deeper component of mystery involved. In other words, I could hypothetically draw ANY cards for a given spread, and if I'm willing to dig deep enough into my own psyche, I can apply those cards to my question or situation in a meaningful way. The cards themselves contain no special qualities beyond symbolism, and my draws are random (i.e. not guided by any higher principle or supernatural force). In a nutshell, Tarot is a useful psychological tool.

2. Tarot provides a new vocabulary, as stated, BUT...there is also something deeper and more mysterious going on. The cards drawn for a particular situation are NOT random, indeed, when combined with intuition, they are often eerily relevant and prescient in a way that defies human understanding and taps into some kind of higher realm.

3. Tarot is undoubtedly a sacred, supernatural tool that taps directly into the Mystery and is guided by divine forces and supernatural energies.

If I have to place myself somewhere between these three positions, I would place myself somewhere between #1 and #2, but leaning heavily towards #2. I would LIKE for #2 and/or #3 to be true, but my rational mind still gets in the way at times.