Ritual of the Hexagram

Professor X

I am working on using and learning this ritual right now. This will be one of my first forays into active magick. The type of magick I have been using since 1999 has been of a defensive kind. I have concentrated so much so the defensive aspect that I have become a expert all arts of defensive magick. I see now that I need to develop the other part of magickal skill and learn more active manuever.

The hexagram works better with what I am trying to do that ritual of the pentagram.

I plan on working with the hexagram of Mars,because of my birth chart I am already endowed with a connection with Mars and its energies.

I figured I would start off with something relatively simple to get myself going with active Magick. Then once I master it I can move to bigger and more complex things. I plan on writing out some sort of ritual for myself and then practice the ritual tommorrow morning first thing. Hopely I can become as adept with active magick as I am with defensive.

Is it really neccesary like it says in the GD book to stand facing the direction of the planet whos energies you are trying to invoke?

Aeon418

Professor X said:
I plan on working with the hexagram of Mars,because of my birth chart I am already endowed with a connection with Mars and its energies.
Building on top of natural inclination is easy, but tends towards imbalance. Nearly all males are to some degree naturally in tune with martial energy. It is the Venusian side that usually requires more development, and vice versa for females.

Here's Crowley's comments on this subject in chapter 1 of Magick in Theory and Practice.