new to astrology

spinnachie

Hi all
I am fairly new to astrology...basically all i really know is the signs of the zodiac...through reading horoscopes...i was wondering if anyone could tell me where a complete beginner would start...what books would you recommend...what software would you recommend...etc...

any help would be greatly appreciated!

Minderwiz

Hi all
I am fairly new to astrology...basically all i really know is the signs of the zodiac...through reading horoscopes...i was wondering if anyone could tell me where a complete beginner would start...what books would you recommend...what software would you recommend...etc...

any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi,

If that's the extent of your knowledge at the moment, I'd suggest starting with something like Parker's Astrology. I don't think it's currently in print and there's a 'new' copy on Amazon UK going for astronomically silly money. However there are second hand copies out there which can be ridiculously cheap. Nick Campion wrote a similar book called 'The Practical Astrologer'.

The advantage of these books is that they take you through everything a beginner needs to know, including how to cast a chart. All necessary tables are provided and there are examples of the procedures.

Both books also give you the necessary run down on planets, signs and houses and some basic interpretations.

These books are not the only introductory books, you will find a lot more in the resources thread and new introductory books are being published at regular intervals, so it may well be that more will be added.

Astrology in the west has become a very dynamic area in the last twenty to twenty five years and there has been an awakening of interest (or at least a widening of interest) in both its tradition and in Jyotish or Vedic Astrology - the Astrology practiced in India, which is actually related to the early tradition in the west.