Tarot Shadow Work--Chapter 1-Nightfall

SherryZoned

What do we all think of chapter one? Do you like how she explains about shadow work?

I like how she explains the 'shadow'...

"Peter pan had lost his shadow. Wendy sewed it back on because he couldn't exist without it."

"Dracula at once resembles sexual desire and evil without end."

Are just a couple..

She puts in a bit of Jung..She explains the Shadow in Tarot of each card..Specifically the Devil.

I pretty much like the whole chapter..She covers almost everything you wonder..What shadow work can and cannot do for you..Symbols..Healing..Definately a plus on how to use the book! lol

Well I am not good at starting discussions..so Jump in!

Laurel

I also liked this chapter. When I opened the book, the first thing I saw was "Why Bring Up A Dead Psychiatrist?" and it made me smile. I don't know why.

Her description of what an archetype ~is~ is a little simple and seemed rushed. I appreciated her description of shadow behaviors, but didn't see a good explanation for of the relationship between the shadow and these behaviors. I think she might have included a few more examples of work done on Shadows and Archetypes as references to compensate.

Laurel

mooncat2

Hi all,

I liked it. Mainly because its simple and easy to read - too often one gets lost in a maze of psychological jargon you don't understand.

I also like the fact that the book emerged from her own life experience.

'Shadow work does not concern itself with getting rid of anything.It is about fully accepting......
Thats the paragraph that seems to have stayed with me.

jema

i think the first chapter has no meat.
i read it several things but nothing really struck a cord with me. i don't hate it or anything - just that it sort of slipped right past me like a silky scarf of words.
i do however enjoy the second chapter a lot.
i think first chapters are almost always like that though - vague.