Chinese anyone?

La La

Sorry if my ignorance is showing but I keep discovering new threads or forums - all these wonderful topics....
( I digress)
I'm a curious novice too lazy to read every post on every thread (I have to cheat a bit coz I can only access the forum at work lucky I have a great boss)

but has there been any discussion on the chinese astrology here?

I'm a Leo in the western astrology but don't fit the brave bold leader image at all (big ego - well that's another thing) but in the chinese astrology I'm a tiger is there any co-relation between the two cultural approaches?

Minderwiz

I'm not sure whether there has been much discussion before. I'm very much grounded in Western Astrology and really have not explored the Chinese side to any great degree.

Do you know much about it yourself?

Minderwiz

isthmus nekoi

As far as I know, they are quite different. The Chinese calendar is based on a lunar system, whereas Western astrology is solar. I never really thought about correlating symbols, and although there is some overlap - Tiger & Leo, Oxen & Taurus, Goat & Capricorn, the Western signs are heavily linked to seasonal change, and Chinese signs are linked to a year... Another difference would be the elements - Chinese have 5 (water, fire, earth, metal and wood).

AquarianGoddess

There's a book by Suzanne White which incorporates Western and Chinese astrology which I've read years ago, but have never applied it.

AG

cricket

In my personal experience, the Chinese astrology has fit -me- better than the Western astrology. It's a lot easier for me to understand, too. *L*

There is a cycle of twelve years. Each year has a different animal to represent it, the people born in those years blessed with the attributes of the animal. There are the few born with attributes of two signs, the cusp people, as in western astrology.