The Piper and the Glanconer

FourLeafClover

I am a total novice at ANY kind of card-reading, and I'm wondering if I'm doing this wrong.
I have long been a fan of Froud, and I simply adore "Good Faeries, Bad Faeries", so given my recent descision to learn to read Tarot, I was delighted to find out about the Faeries' Oracle.

Anyway, the point is, I'm not always seeing what the book says I should see.

Take the Piper for instance. In the beginning excercises in the book, I picked him as "least appealing card". He's gorgeous, but I find him menacing. He seems angry to me, while being seductively beautiful. I can't shake the feeling that following his music would take me into some very dark place. And yet his keywords include "Harmony, Empathy and Order". Okay, so I had Seduction bang on, but I just don't see the others. He seems bitter, bent on causing problems.

The Glanconer, now... I can't tell you how delighted I was to find he was in the Oracle. He's a favorite of mine from "GF/BF", where he's portrayed as a seducer of unwary women, a sort of male siren. He's downright scary, but I can't help but like him. There's something very friendly and familliar about him, like if I were to meet him I'd now exactly who and what he was and I'd follow him anyway, for the joy of it. He seems more of a flirt than an actual archetypal dangerous seducer, and a fun flirt at that.

The Piper is very much a dark seducer to me, and the Glanconer nothing of the sort.

I know one should use one's intuition (which I've never been any good at anway), but I'm afraid I've got it ALL WRONG, because I havn't got at all what the book says and... well, it's the instructions, right?

dolphinprincess

You should always follow your intuition - but this is one deck where you are REALLY supposed to follow your intuition..

Jess cannot stress enough in the book that the definitions are only starting points.. The Faeries have so much more to say.. and may say different things to different people...