Justice and Strength

LilyanRose

I tried to do a search and got an OVERWHELMING number of threads, so I'm asking specifically. In the great debate of where Strength and Justice fall in the tarot order, where do you place them and why? I can't make up my mind.

Grizabella

I just use whatever the deck I'm choosing indicates. I use mostly Rider Waite and clones so it's usually Strength 8 and Justice 11.

JackofWands

Same as Grizabella, I use the ordering of the deck I'm working with. In the three main Tarot traditions, RWS is the only one to put Strength at VIII (this was done to make the astrological associations of Strength/Leo and Justice/Libra work); both Thoth and the TdM put Justice at VIII. I tend to work with RWS-based decks most often (although my first was from the TdM tradition), so I suppose the default in my mind is Strength at VIII, but it really is flexible.

Saelyn

I learned Tarot through RWS and clones, so I never really gave it much thought... when I started studying the history of the deck and the rearranging of the two, it sort of illuminated some things for me. Now, I still will leave them in the order the deck has put them in (as previous posters have said), but when I do a reading, if there's a nagging feeling that the number should be flipped then I might pay closer attention to why I'm getting that impression and it can inform a reading.

I do like to read with astrology in mind, so for me it makes sense that they have be reorganized.

nisaba

I tried to do a search and got an OVERWHELMING number of threads, so I'm asking specifically. In the great debate of where Strength and Justice fall in the tarot order, where do you place them and why? I can't make up my mind.

Between the 1400s and 1909 (that is for up to 500 years) Justice was eight and Strength was eleven. Arthur Waite, who wasn't an angel but just a human, made a decision to change that in his deck only. Many copy his. Some revert to the traditional numbering.