Conflicting Signs/Elements

Kristyjnh

Okay, first off before I get started, I'm very new to Astrology, and don't know a whole lot about it. I'm trying to learn, but it's hard to do so when I keep seeing everything through my "how does this affect me" filters so I want to get some of my stuff figured out before I confuse myself learning. If that makes any sense. Okay... Here goes...

I'm a Leo - but I never felt like one. I always hated being in the spotlight, having eyes on me unnerved me terribly. I never had a gift for making friends or expressing myself; just talking to one other person was difficult. I was always super shy around other people, save for the few close friends I had (among them my Leo might've shined through, I've always been a little... Eccentric).

Whenever I would look at astrological signs I would be drawn away from what I consider the "feeling" types - Fire and Water - toward the more controlled elements. I'm intellectual, critical, a little OCD (I can't play Rummikub with my family because I drive them crazy constantly straightening the tiles), and I love learning and knowing things not generally useful. I'm definitely a Sword. I often identify more with the masculine (my nickname in high school was The Godfather - I still have friends who call me that) but usually dress myself very girly in skirts and dresses.

Honestly, I always felt drawn to the sign of Virgo, who was highly critical, neat, analytical, and shy. As a child I was a bit of a girly-girl (I wore only dresses from the age of 2 1/2 to 8. ONLY DRESSES). When I got older and took a more masculine stance on the world, I still idealized my inner princess, and still had those traits named above.