Getting the querant to "participate"

Jeanette

Greetings to all. I am new to this, and just introduced myself. Jimilyn was kind enough to direct me to this section. I was wondering how to get the querant to participate, and not just sit passively across from you? I tried reading for my neighbor, and she just sat there, no comment on anything! Is this usual? How do I proceed?

MeeWah

People may not participate for different reasons. They may not want to iinadvertently give information or influence the reading. May not feel comfortable. Do not know what, if anything, is expected of them. If talking is ok with you, you can indicate this. Some people prefer not to talk & to concentrate on what is said by the reader. I've had a few come prepared to take notes or bring a tape recorder.
How well you & your neighbor know each other may affect her behavior. Also her understanding of what a reading is. Was she eager for the reading, doing you a favor acting as querent or (please do not take offense) was she drafted as a guinea pig--did she have to be persuaded? & lastly, but certainly not the least: is it mutually understood that what is said between you is considered confidential & privileged?
You can ask her if she was comfortable with the experience; & why she did not talk.
As a reader, I do not mind silence; actually, I prefer it.

Talisman

Jeanette,

In her book, "78 Degrees of Wisdom," Rachel Pollack tells several funny stories about people who react to a reading like this.

Let me quote just a bit: "People who go to tarot readers often do so with a 'show-me' attitude. Since they look at divination as something magical (though not really knowing what they mean) they want the reader to demonstrate magical powers. The value of the reading for them lies in how accurately it matches what they know to be true. . . To make sure the reader is 'honest' they conceal as much of their lives as possible . . ."