Horary - Applying Aspects

Paul

O.k. -- Tarot and I are quite comfy together...But, I'm in the Astrology section.

Horary Astrology is fascinating, but I'm a novice. So, here comes by super duper, mega, ultra beginner's question:

When determining applying aspects (those that will happen), what exactly are those degrees listed in the aspects columns? You know, when it lists separating and applying aspects? What do the degrees tell me precisely? Is this the number of degrees and minutes it will take for the applying aspect to come together?

For example, the significator (say Venus) is applying to sextile with a job (say Mercury) in 3.06 -- what does "3.06" tell me? I was playing around with timing and was trying to figure out how to use these conjunctions, sextiles, and trines to determine when an event will happen.

Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere; I impatiently tried a keyword search.
;)

Minderwiz

You are correct to say that applying aspects are related to the future and separating aspects are related to the past. I'm not sure what source you are using for your aspects but the usual practice is to quote aspects in terms of degrees, so 3.06 is most likely to mean that the planets concerned are currently 3 degrees and 6 minutes apart (and closing if the aspect is applying).

There are two issues to consider:

Firstly will the aspect actually perfect before something else happens. If the applying planet turns retrograde the aspect will not perfect. If one or other planet aspects a third planet before the perfection then the aspect doesn't count. There are various situations here and I don't really want to wander off point, so unless you want to pursue the matter I'll move on to the second point.