"I don't understand what you mean..."

Obsydian

Okay, I had a reading that left me feeling less than confident. I felt really bad about it, that for some reason my messages weren't getting across and understood.

What's the best way to phrase things so the client understands? The tarot gives me feelings and ideas, not strong "this is going to happen" predictions, and I thought I worded things correctly. They just didn't understand me when I said that the cards were showing me this about the relationship and such.

Is this just something I need to work towards? I'm still a newbie professional.

Barleywine

Okay, I had a reading that left me feeling less than confident. I felt really bad about it, that for some reason my messages weren't getting across and understood.

What's the best way to phrase things so the client understands? The tarot gives me feelings and ideas, not strong "this is going to happen" predictions, and I thought I worded things correctly. They just didn't understand me when I said that the cards were showing me this about the relationship and such.

Is this just something I need to work towards? I'm still a newbie professional.

That blank stare (or quizzical e-mail) can feel like the "kiss of death," can't it? (But I suppose it's better than a shrug or a yawn.) LIke you, I don't make flat predictions about coming events, only probabilities and emerging trends. I let the querent fill in the specifics from their own knowledge and intuition about the situation. They usually have a good "hunch" once you've set their feet on the path. I learn toward the belief that the querent's subconscious knows the truth about the matter, it just ain't telling the conscious without a nudge. (Which is as good a theory as any about how tarot works.)