New to Tarot- picking cards

lwinders

Hello. I am very new to Tarot and while it does have a certain excitement to it, it has also brought about some feelings of negativity. I think maybe this has been because with the RWS deck and just now learning the common interpretations some of the cards do come across as negative to me.

My purpose using the cards would be personal development. A couple of times now I feel very good about a certain situation, but after a tarot reading I feel this doubt or distraction from the good feelings I had before if a card or cards seemed not to support the way I actually feel.

I decided then to try my best to get certain feelings from the cards myself while pulling them when I feel certain way, I guess so I can get a feel about the cards and what they might really mean for me. As suggested for new people I considered pulling the one card per day. But what I did instead was sat with the cards and decided that whenever I had a certain strong feeling come up, I would pull a card and note what the feeling was. And then just note what I pull based on that feeling I had. I think that way I know how I am feeling when I pick certain cards and therefore I could develop my own feelings before looking at others interpretations.

I didn't pull from the cut deck but I shuffle until I feel done, and just wait for the time I felt strong about something then I fanned the cards in one hand and used the other to pick the card I felt like picking. Then I would pull another when I feel another strong feeling. I also might think on a certain person and then intuitively pick the card from the fanning method.

Anyway I thought that way felt good to me. Since I'm so new I just don't even know if anyone else does something like this, or am I totally just making up my own system and all the experienced folks are rolling their eyes, lol.

Grizabella