Having trouble reading Knight cards...

mr.cleo

Hi, I'm a beginner to the tarot. I use a standard Rider Waite deck and Universal Waite Deck (I think the colors are really pretty). Because my head goes blank when I read the actual booklet that comes with the deck, I have a book called Learning the Tarot by Joan Bunning. However I still have trouble understanding the Knight cards...Any help is welcome.

Thirteen

I've found the best way to think of Knights is to think about teenagers. Knights, like teenagers, have purer views of things than adults. Like knights, when they have a belief in something, they have it totally, complete loyality and faith in a cause (So, Knight of Cups, complete faith in love).

However, also like teenagers, they can be impulsive, active, restless, wild. So, Knight of Cups is also someone likely to do impulsive things for love, an active participant rather than passive, with all that's good and bad about that. Good in that you know they love you. Bad in that they can go overboard. Romeo of Romeo and Juliet is a good Knight of Cups, willing to do crazy things for it, die for it. This is the teen who writes poetry, stays in a dark room, is moody, plays guitar, etc.

Knight of Swords is all about ideas and words; he's the teen who likes to argue, gossip, play tricks, hack into computers. Knight of Wands is the party animal, really good natured and very loyal, but restless, driving his car all over the place. Knight of Pentacles is the teen who's organized and a little too serious, he always has a summer job; his parents might urge him to have fun, but, impulsively and single mindedly, he's always focused on his own projects.

Does that help?

mr.cleo

yes thank you very mucH!

tarotbear

*ahem*

I look on Knights as changes coming into or leaving the Querent's life.

The Knight of Pentacles- his steed is standing still. This change will come but will not happen quickly.