Memorizing Card Meanings

Morgeinne

I am relatively new to the Tarot; I have, of course, known about it for years, but just started working with cards around a year ago (with Legend: the Arthurian Tarot) and got my second deck about 5 or 6 months ago (Dragon Tarot.) I like both my decks, but Legend more because I've been working with it longer and am more familiar with it.

Anyway, I have had good results in most all my readings, for myself and for my close family and a couple of friends (usually just for myself) but I cannot seem to remember ALL of the card meanings! I could easily memorize the Major Arcana, but does anyone have any good memorization tips and tricks for the Minor or Major Arcanas? Thanks!

-Morgeinne

joya250

memorization... I have found it sometimes to be a double-edged sword. I find myself getting hung up on the "catch phrase" I associate with the card... and then just draw a blank when I have to expand on it, and how it ties in to the other cards in the spread.

BUT, memorization can also be very helpful... and can be a starting point to delving deeping into the card meanings.

what worked best for me was to get a book that very simply broke the card up - giving me a "catch phrase" and then bullets points for it's meaning. (the book I always reccommend is Tarot Awareness: Exploring the Spiritual Path, by Stephen Walter Sterling.) I do not have either of the decks you are working with, but I assume you could find a book(s) that talk specifically about each deck -- though a more general book would work just as well. (you prob. already have a million books... but I just had to put that out there. sorry!)