New to everything

sarahenglish

Hi, I am new to tarot in terms of doing it myself. I have had several readings over the years.

I have just purchased my 1st 2 decks. The first was The Crystal Tarot published by Lo Scarabeo with art by Elisabetta Trevison. I bought it because it was the one that appealed to me the most. At the same time I bought Anthony Louis' book "Tarot Plain and Simple." After looking through that book and then looking at some threads on symbolism here, I realized that I probably ought to own a more traditional deck for learning and decided upon the Universal Waite Tarot. When I got the deck home and really looked at the box, I had to chuckle that my card of the day, the Queen of Pentacles (which I had not even had time to look up yet), was depicted on the box. So I guess I made the right choice!

I also purchased the book "Tarot for Yourself." I have started going through the workbook and already I am overwhelmed!

Apparantly, I am one of the people that has the #19 and therefore, my soul and personality cards are the Magician, Sun, and Wheel. Should I stop there and try to really learn what those 3 cards mean and their impact in my life now, or should I just read the meanings of the individual cards and keep going because I will gain the understanding in the process.

I realize that this is probably a monumentally stupid question, but I am so overwhelmed that I don't really know where to start and dont want to become so frustrated that I give up.

Thanks, Sarah English

Emily

Hi Sarah,

Have you taken a look at Thirteen's 'Tarot Basics' forum . I'm a relative tarot newbie and have found them very informative and clear. Takes you straight through from the Majors to the Minors and are Rider Waite based :)

Mateo06