Recommendations please!

moonkitty

Hello!

I'm new to tarot (and new to here as well). I have been trying to decide on a tarot deck. I love the artwork of the shapeshifter deck & the fairie oracle, but the shapeshifter doesn't seem good for a beginner, and the fairie isn't a actually a tarot(?). I also love the artwork of Susan Seddon Boulet. Is there a good tarot deck for beginners with artwork similar to these?

Thanks!

Kiama

The Shapeshifert deck was painted by Lisa Hunt. Another deck painted by Lisa is the Celtic Dragon Tarot.. both with DJ Conway.

Another deck good for beginners with beautiful artwork is teh Robin Wood, and Nijel Jacskon Tarot.

Hope this helps.
Kiama

Rhiannon

I also recommend the Robin Wood, especially for a beginner. The artwork is beautiful and vibrant, the faces are friendly and the usually scary cards (death, devil) aren't all that scary here. The symbolism is so rich that even my 7 year old daughter new what the cards meant. Good luck!

Rhiannon :)

joya250

hi moonkitty. :) welcome.

I "third" the reccomendation on the Robin Wood deck. I also reccommend the basic Rider Waite... or even the Universal Rider Waite (same pictures, just a little more lively).... I'm currently in-between "beginner stage" and whatever the next stage is (haha) .... and I found myself starting the buy all kinds of tarot decks in my excitement before I really got a chance, or took the time, to "master" one of them. So, to begin with, I would suggest the more traditional decks. That way you can learn the basics and then branch out from there. I own the Rider Waite, Robin Wood, Voyager Tarot, Daughters of the Moon Tarot, Vertigo Tarot, Fantastical Tarot, and the Rohrig Tarot. ..... and out of all those, I can only read with the first two!

ahh, sorry to ramble. good luck!

Elphaba