Reversible or Non-Reversible?

Mike81

Firstly, hello everyone! :) I'm Mike.

I'm new to the tarot, but I've just started on creating my own deck (I was looking for a good excuse for making pretty pictures and using up some art materials I have lying around my flat). I've done quite a bit of research using the net and found a few great sites (if you haven't seen this one check it out www.tarotpassages.com).

However I've come up against a bit of a stumbling block, should a tarot deck have reversible, nearly reversible or non-reversible backs? I would be interested to know what people more experienced with the tarot think about this. Are there advantages / disadvantages to each choice? Which would you chose? Have you made your own deck and if so how did you make your backs?

Any help much appreciated, thanks. :wink:

(oh and I wasn't sure whether this was the correct forum to place this question in but it seemed to be the one most relevant)

Alta

Hi Mike,
This should likely have been posted in Tarot Deck Creation, in Study Groups, however the moderator may move it for you.

Most decks have reversible backs, though not all. The one that I notice the most in my collection is the Victoria Regina which has a picture of Queen Victoria on the back. That's because I read with it a lot. I have another deck with a slightly non-reversible back, but since I can never remember which way is up (no jokes!) it doesn't matter.

I would think it depends on how folks read. I lay all of the cards in my throw facing down first and then gradually turn them over. With the VR, I know in advance which are reversed. Bothers me a tiny bit, but has not stopped me from using the deck.

So, my opinion, suit yourself, but to be more mainstream, maybe a non-reversible back is better and more acceptable.

marmalade

Hello!

welcome to tarot-land, and good luck with creating your deck.