Specific deck vs universal Tarot-symbolism

Jenny-Li

Hi!

Here's one that I'm not sure how I feel about myself: How much do you think the deck itself has to do with the interpretation you do of the spread? I mean, all (or at least most of them) decks have variations in symbolism and imagery, do you alter your reading-principles according to which deck your reading with at the moment?

Right now I'm studying the Tarot Basics that was posted here at Aeclectic by Thirteen some time ago, and I find it extremely helpful, it builds up an understanding for the Tarot as a system - which means I "get it", and don't feel I have to memorize anything.

We all choose our decks with very much care - it has to feel right, it has to "speak" to us, it has to feel like a really good friend. So the deck itself is an individual we choose for it's specific characteristics, it has something special that appeals to us.

But there's two separate schools of thought right there, aren't there? The tarot system, the universal ideas behind the Tarot and all the different Tarot decks we have to choose from out there, all with their own theories, interpretations and individual character. So my question is: How do you all work with this? Is it one or the other, or do you combine both these ways of thinking Tarot? If so - how do you make the ends meet...?

I'm not sure my thoghts are being completely clear here, I know there's not much _wrong_ with my English, but it's just not as fine-tuned as I'd like it to be, and it doesn't always allow me to describe exactly what I'm thinking... If I'm not making sense, please ask and I'll try to be more specific!

/Jenny - not as confused as I may sound...! *laugh*

Lion-O

Quote:Originally posted by Jenny-Li