Tarot - for chosen ones or a matter of learning?

Jenny-Li

Hi!

Where I come from, most people assume Tarot is the same thing as doing psychic magic, being able to tell what the future will bring. And it's not for real if you're not "born with it", as a paranormal gift, clairvoyance.

A girl I know, one of the few who knows I'm studying the Tarot, her first remark was that "Oh, that's really interesting. But I've always wanted to go to a REAL psychic." To me that is not the same thing - but maybe I'm the one being wrong here, and should quit acting like I've anything to do here right away...?

Anyway, my question is simply: What do you all think? Can anyone learn to read the Tarot, or do you have to have certain abilities in the bagage from the start? Is there something else that makes some people not able to learn this? And what DOES make a "good Tarot reader"?

Another big question from the newbie, y'all will be fed up with me by the end of the week, I think...! *laugh*

In light,
Jenny :)

Lion-O

(quick edit; thats what you get for posting at 1am)

Quote:Originally posted by Jenny-Li
Anyway, my question is simply: What do you all think? Can anyone learn to read the Tarot, or do you have to have certain abilities in the bagage from the start? Is there something else that makes some people not able to learn this? And what DOES make a "good Tarot reader"?
Blech, I say "yes and no" to a related question in another thread and immediatly get this 8)

Anyway; I think its a bit of both; I really think almost everyone can learn how to use the Tarot deck, to me its nothing more but a tool to unlock certain knowledge, but as with all things in life some people will have more ease to learn and 'master' it then others. Just like anything else in real life, some will succeed and some will fail alltogether.