Jumping Cards

Kira

I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right thread for this topic, but I'm dying to hear some opinions on this.

I was shuffling last night for my daily reading (I decided to pull a card for the next day since I *never* have enough time in the morning to pull out my deck) and one of the cards jumped out while I was shuffling. I ended up using that one as my daily card - still not sure how it applied to my day today - but I thought, maybe it's trying to tell me something.

So I was thinking... do you use the cards that jump out while you're doing a reading, whether it's a daily self-reading or one for a querent? Do you put them aside and use them afterwards? Or, if it happens quite often, is it something to ignore and figure I need practice shuffling?

Ever since I started learning, I've read that "jumping" cards are ones to pay attention to. I was just wondering what others thought.

PS: The card that jumped out last night was the 4 of Pentacles... I'm still trying to figure out why.

MareSaturni

It depends. If one or two cards jump from the deck suddenly, either when i'm shuffling or choosing the cards, i pay attention to them. If ten fall out, then it's because i'm being messy that day :p

I think if that card jumped out, maybe it wasn't your daily card, but another thing your should keep in mind or be aware of. Just my 2 cents.

:TPW Yuko

Driley

I'm a firm believer in the "The Magick is in the Magus" approach. So, I'm going to say that it is entirely up to you how you approach this issue. If it were me, I'd probably sigh, pick up the card, and wonder what I was trying to tell myself that I was too stubbon to hear without getting tricked into paying attention. But that's me...