Are all Lenormand decks read the same?

Ryver

Or at least for the most part?

I have noticed from Tarot deck to Tarot deck the meanings of the cards, their interpretations and interactions change due to the differences in imagery, symbols, and even colors. I get the impression that with Lenormand decks this does not happen or at least does not happen nearly to the extent experienced in Tarot. I just got my first deck so I have no experience in comparing them since I can't even say I have learned this first deck. Could you please correct my thinking if I am wrong or tell me your thoughts whether you agree or disagree.

Tag_jorrit

Yes. Absolutely. Lenormand is a system of reading symbols and combining them to make a coherent sentences. They read like a language. The art is basically irrelevant so you can choose whatever appeals to you. However, the cards with stark, unembelished symbols are easiest to read so that you don't have to wade through visual clutter to identify the symbols.

If you want to read historically accurate symbols, you may be drawn to the old ones where the Rider represented the messenger, essential to carrying on business and government; not a lady perched on a horse or jumper in a hunt field. Or a Tower where one was isolated or carried on royal business, not a tourist attraction. You get the idea.

Of course, if the art appeals to you can you look through what the artist has put on the cards to read the pure symbol. But it is never the art that you read but the symbol.

But bear in mind that you never read the art in Lenormand. If you do, you are not reading Lenormand but your own concoction using Lenormand cards.

greatdane

I think Lenormand is much more "set" BUT