5 of pentacles Morgan Greer

Edward Tarot Hands

The five of pentacles from the Morgan Greer tarot so very different that the RWS... any ideas of it's meaning

To me the characters are very reminiscent of The Virgin Mary holding Jesus, except in this 'Jesus' is an adult, especially that he seems to be bandaged in the same places where Jesus received his wounds, on the wrists and the head. Also the fifth pentacle is behind 'Mary's' head like a halo.
I interpret it as suffering spiritually for material things or an endevour the way in the Jesus suffered physically for the sins of people. I think that the Mary image could signify returning to a childlike state where life is taken less seriously. The coulour red dominates through the picture (as it does in the Knight of cups before it) maybe signifying that a passion for a material endevour may lead to suffering.
I'm very new to tarot so I would appreciate your ideas
cheers

Sulis

I don't think it's that different to the RWS version, it's just more of a close up of the 2 people outside in the cold instead of inside the church.
I love the way the stained glass window is in the shape of a pentacle or pentagram and for me, that gives the card more of a message of healing and the way the woman is cradling the injured man also gives that interpretation for me.

I'm not Christian so would never have connected it to The Virgin Mary and Christ but if that works for you then go for it.

To me 5s are about changes, often unexpected and they are usually connected to a lesson or phase of spiritual growth (all the 5s are related to The Hierophant).. I think of them as blessing in disguise cards.. At the time they can seem awful but with hindsight, they've jolted us out of the stagnation of the 4s and allowed us to grow and learn.
The 5 of Pentacles is about changes in the material or physical realm so they can be about illness, doing without something, poverty, physical loss etc.

Edited to add a picture of the card.

Attachments