Getting tired during readings

rainier

I'm fairly new to reading tarot, but one of the things that I noticed most immediately about reading is how tired it makes me. Anything larger than a one or two card spread can really put me in a mental fog, and sometimes I end up taking a break for an hour or so just to clear out my brain. I haven't heard anybody else talking about this so I'm wondering: does this happen to anybody else? Am I doing something wrong that is causing this to happen?

Or really, I guess I'd just like to figure out how to keep my energy up during readings. Any feedback would be much appreciated!!

NightVision

Reading requires a HUGE amount of mental energy when you first start out, it is quite the mental exercise. you are engaging your imagination, subconscious, memory and pattern recognition all at the same time. I can't do more than 3 readings in a row.

Some would also say that you are spending psychic energy, and that some people have more of a sensitivity to card reading than others, you will see lots of examples of this around the forum.

So no, you aren't alone there.

twilight_dusk

When I first started reading, reading 2-3 card spreads for a couple of times, really takes a lot outta me. :(

Cenozoic

I remember trying to read a card for the first time, and my head got cloudy instantly! But I realized it's because my brain was churning very hard to process the information, and since I knew that, I took small breaks.

Too much information at once can leave you feeling overwhelmed, and that makes you want to quit, and then you'll never learn what you wanted to! So just take in small portions at a time, and it'll be easier on your brain, and then you'll learn more in the long run.

nisaba