Good resources online and book recommendations for I Ching?

kimtsan

Hi guys! I just started studying I Ching, and I am wondering if there are good resources for beginners out there. I am looking for some introductory material that is easy to understand since I Ching is a very complex system. I just started looking at the hexagrams and the basics of I Ching and I feel like a I definitely need a book or website that systematically organizes the information into lessons because it is such a dynamic and intricate system of divination and it's a lot to take in. Any recommendation would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance! :)

bradford

I can highly recommend this site as a place to begin:
http://www.onlineclarity.co.uk/index.php
There is a free introductory course there.
There are good recommendations for further reading as well.
And a lively discussion forum.
Most of the material on my own site is too advanced, but you might find something of use in the Links, or the Bibliography, or the free booklet on Hexagram Names. http://www.hermetica.info

I do strongly advise against going anywhere near books or pages that are advertised for beginners. They are total crap. Instead, you are better off working a little harder and building a foundation that you won't have to unlearn later. You should study from sources who know the book in Chinese, not people who are just repackaging new age ideas. Get a couple of decent translations, NOT interpretations, but real translations, and take the time to study the introductory material. Alfred Huang's is pretty good. Thomas Cleary's plain and Buddhist versions are worthwhile. Richard Lynn's is OK too. The Wilhelm is almost regarded as canon, but it's dated and not a very accurate translation. Even Legge's is better, though it's dated as well.

gregory

Book - Alfred Douglas: The Oracle of Change. OOP but easy to source second hand cheaply.

rachelcat