How I got started.

Sinta

How do you start?

Okay, I might be a bit new to tarot and most likely will not be creating a deck until I am satisfied that I am experienced enough, but I would like to know how one would start.

Artistic skills, i have plenty. I've been an artist all my life and still when I have time, I indulge myself and play with the oils on canvas. So there's no problem there. I also have a faint idea what kind of deck I'll make.

Is there anything else? What materials do you use? Is there anything about legalities or copyrights that have to be known?

:) Thanks for any feedback.

moonman

Go!

Hi Sinta,

It sounds like your in the same boat as me.

I spent a lot of time doing research and brainstorming to find what I liked, what I wanted my cards to say, what would make my cards different from the ones out there etc.

I have only designed one card but I'm very pleased with it and I can see from what I have designed will be consistant through out the deck.

Don’t worry too much about copyright etc. before you start otherwise you will never start, that’s enough to put anyone off getting started. I would post all designs etc. to yourself for the meantime.

I would say just start of with concept boards by collecting things that you like even if it's not related to tarot, then stick them down on paper. Then pick out what you like most to see if that would work. I would just go for it!! PUT THOSE IDEAS ON TO PAPER it makes it more real.

Also just choose what you like working with the best i.e computer, painting, pastels drawing as there is no set rule. Don’t make excuses not to get started as that’s what I’m good at as that’s only flushing your talent down the toilet.

One other thing is to enjoy it!!!!!

Oh yeah you can always ask the Publishers for a template and submission guidelines, even if your not even thinking of getting them published this will save some time.