How to choose my first deck

TrinaBeana87

Hello everyone! I am new to Tarot and have been barrowing my friends Rider-Waite deck. What's the best way to pick my first deck? Online? At a store? What type of deck...ect. I want to do know all I can before I choose my first cards.

Ica'rus

It is up to you where you prefer to purchase it from. There are two stores in my area and they carry an extremely limited supply of decks. The one I wanted when I first picked up a deck (RWS) wasn't available and so I ordered it online. I managed to find Thoth at one of the other ones and picked it up there. I do generally prefer to support local stores. But many of the decks I have purchased recently are only available from specific sites online.

If you've been using RWS and you like it id say that's as good of a place as any to start! Make sure it speaks to you as others have mentioned. There are all kinds of decks. I started with RWS and still enjoy it, and am trying to learn as much as I can even though since then I have picked up 6 or 7 different tarot decks. I bought each for something I am attracted about them. They each speak a little bit differently.

Pauline Kilar

I started with the Sharman-Caselli "Beginners" deck which is beautiful and traditional, but I find it to be a bit lacking in depth.

If I could go back in time and completely start over, I would get a Rider-Waite-Smith deck. This deck is fundamental to understanding a lot of modern decks, and the images are simple enough to read fairly easily while still having enough detail to be evocative.

Pauline Kilar

Oh, and at a store if you can! Whenever possible (which ends up being almost weekly, LOL), I support my local magic shop. Brick-and-mortar stores depend on your business, and your local occult bookstore can be a good place to browse decks and chat with friendly people.

BeyondtheVeil

TrinaBeana87