Intuition vs. Key Words

Ferendial

I'm glad I signed up for this forum, I've gotten a lot of good advice in the few days that I've been here! I realize I've been asking a lot of questions, but I have another that's been on my mind since I started learning.

So many times I've googled "how to learn to read tarot cards" and I read so much about the importance of using your intuition, going with your gut, etc. always accompanied by a list of key words for each card. I started giving readings before I memorized all of these key words (I still don't memorize the majority of them!) and decided to just look at the card and see what it means to me. (For the record, I'm using the Radiant Rider-Waite deck)

I gave a reading where the 6 of Swords came up, and I got the feeling that someone was being taken somewhere against their will. The swords seemed to be blocking the two people from escaping, and someone was essentially steering their path for them. I told the querent that and they said they definitely relate to that.

Just today though I decided to look up what the "text book definition" of the 6 of swords is, and I found key words that contradict the vibes I originally got from the card. "New Beginnings" "Overcoming Obstacles" "Bright Future" "Traveling Away from Difficulty." Was I wrong in how I interpreted it?

Similarly, for the Page of Swords I thought of someone careless. He's not holding the sword like a warrior, he's holding it like a toy. I imagined someone who might not be aware of his potential (not understanding the strength of the sword he's holding). Looking the card up today I found that it represents "Dexterity" "Decisive Action" and "Self Control" which definitely is not what I got from the card. If anything I imagined a LACK of self control.

Should I just not trust my intuition when I'm still this new to using tarot cards? Thanks guys!

WhiteWolfy