Possibly really stupid question(s)

faylie

Is it okay to read purely through intuition? I have dabbled with tarot on and admittedly mostly off for nearly 20 years and do see myself as an absolute novice, this is the most serious I have been with it, I think part of the reason I kept stopping was because I didn't trust my intuition with it, I kept trying to go by the book, I bought the Beginners guide to Tarot maybe 10 years ago, really didn't like the cards and although I am finding the book useful now, I couldn't memorise them and then found it hard to intuitively read the cards. 5 odd years ago I got a copy of the Shadowscapes which I find generally easy to interpret, intuitively, but get very different meanings from books. E.g. 10C today said to me that a relationship could end up being unhealthy and off balance with one person being overly dependent on the other. On a different day I will probably interpret it as mutual support and a blissful relationship which is more in line with the original meaning and looking at books and other decks I can see how it should be read, but intuition says otherwise, which makes me really doubt myself. As an aside, is it normal to get such different readings from different decks?

Thanks for reading such a rambling post and any thoughts :)

Grizabella

I hated the Rider Waite and all the versions of it when I first started learning. I thought it was just plain ugly. So I bought a bunch of other decks trying to learn and it never worked. After a whole lot of wasted time and money, I finally gave in and got the Universal Waite and a book I think was called Tarot for Dummies or something like that, and set about studying. It worked! I learned the card meanings and now I can read with most decks quite well. I just needed to buckle down and get busy with Rider Waite.